23 awards presented to Construction Equipment BESTSELLERS at 11th Equipment India Awards 2023
New Delhi, October 12, 2023: The highly anticipated 11th Equipment India Awards 2023, organised by FIRST Construction Council and presented by BKT, unfolded at the prestigious Shangri-La Eros Hotel, New Delhi, on October 12, 2023. Held as a part of the India Construction Festival, this grand event marked the convergence of industry stalwarts and leading construction equipment manufacturers, as well as components, accessories, spares and hardware companies, all united to acknowledge and celebrate the excellence and innovation within the construction equipment sector.

The inaugural ceremony included: Pratap Padode, Founder & President, First Construction Council; Ashok Chhajer, Senior General Manager - OE Sales, Domestic Market, BKT; Sanjay Patwari, Bonfiglioli Transmissions; Anand Sundaresan, Managing Director, Amman India; and VG Sakthikumar, Managing Director, Schwing Stetter India.

In his inaugural address, Padode underlined the pivotal role played by the government in infrastructure development, whether as a creator or enabler. He highlighted the remarkable commitment of the government to infrastructure investments, emphasising that central government capex had increased significantly, with expectations that it would reach 4.9 per cent of GDP in FY24 compared to 1.7 per cent in FY14. 

Padode also spotlighted the industry’s remarkable growth, with a 26 per cent increase in the financial year 2022-23, resulting in 107,779 units being achieved.

The jury members, comprising industry leaders and experts, played a crucial role in selecting the deserving winners. The jury members for the 11th Equipment India Awards included: Ashok Chhajer, Senior General Manager - OE Sales, BKT Tires; Atasi Das, Assistant Vice President, GR Infra; Kapil Sehgal, Managing Director, Bucher Hydraulics; Piush Goyal, Managing Director, Barrio Equipments; Rajendra Singh, Vice President, Welspun Enterprises; Sameer Malhotra, Director & CEO, Shriram Automall India; Sanjay Pendharkar, Co-Founder and Consultant, Whetstone Business Solutions; Seshnath B, MD & CEO, Walvoil Fluid Power India; SP Rajan, Head-Plant & Machinery, L&T Construction; Sudhir Hoshing, Joint Managing Director, IRB Infrastructure; and TR Rao, Wholetime Director, PNC Infratech.

This year, the selection process for the winners was characterized by transparency and integrity, as the jury diligently reviewed the findings presented by First Construction Council in its Construction Equipment Data Report 2023 and by Equipment India. The availability of equipment sales data from relevant companies for the financial year contributed to this transparent process.

During the event, the jury members unveiled the 18th Anniversary Issue of the Infrastructure Today magazine. This special edition focused on the four pillars of India's economic development: Infrastructure, Investment, Innovation, and Inclusion. With India's projection to become the third-largest economy by FY28, this Collector's Edition featured insights from over 22 industry leaders, providing comprehensive perspectives on these vital elements shaping the Indian economy.

A significant highlight of the evening was the announcement of the Equipment India Person of the Year 2023, an honour awarded to Dimitrov Krishnan, Managing Director of Volvo Construction Equipment India. Krishnan was unanimously chosen by the Jury Panel for his outstanding contributions to the industry, which have not only propelled his organisation but have also had a positive impact on the industry as a whole. The jury considered Volvo Construction Equipment India's remarkable growth under his able leadership. 

Krishnan received the award from previous winners of the Equipment India Person of the Year, including Anand Sundaresan (2014), Sandeep Singh (2017), and VG Sakthikumar (2020).

Receiving the prestigious Equipment India Person of the Year award, Krishnan expressed his gratitude to the suppliers and dealers for their unwavering support.

The 11th Equipment India Awards 2023 celebrated and rewarded excellence in eleven Bestseller product categories. The deserving winners in these categories were:
• Action Construction Equipment for Mobile Cranes and Tower Cranes
• Ammann India for Asphalt Finishers
• CASE Construction India for Compaction Equipment
• Caterpillar India for Rigid Dump Trucks and Motor Graders
• Doosan Bobcat India for Skid-Steer Loaders
• JCB India for Backhoe Loaders
• LiuGong India for Wheeled Loaders
• Tata Hitachi Construction Machinery for Mini Excavators and Crawler Excavators

Additionally, the event recognised excellence in emerging bestseller categories, with six awards presented. Sany Heavy Industry India emerged as a dominant force, securing three awards for Crawler Cranes, Truck Cranes, and Piling Rigs. Schwing Stetter India received two awards in the categories of Concrete Pumps and Batching Plants, while Ammann India was acknowledged for its excellence in the Asphalt Plants category.

In the category of Trainer of the Year, Schwing Stetter India clinched the coveted award, underlining their commitment to fostering industry expertise and skills. Two Best Innovation awards were bestowed upon Terex India for their product Powerscreen Pulse Telematic System and Schwing Stetter India for TSR EV Shotcrete Pump.

The event also recognised corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiatives, with CASE Construction being honoured as the CSR Company of the Year. AJAX Engineering received the Green Factory of the Year award, underscoring their dedication to environmentally sustainable practices.

The 11th Equipment India Awards 2023 brought together industry leaders, innovators, and exemplary performers in the construction equipment sector, underscoring the industry's commitment to excellence and sustainability. It served as a platform to celebrate their achievements and contributions to India's growth and development. The evening was filled with inspiration, camaraderie, and the promise of a brighter future for the construction equipment industry in India.